DMV Hearings

Practice Areas

DUI Criminal Defense Lawyer Los Angeles

If you been arrested for a DUI in Los Angeles, your driver’s license may be suspended or revoked by the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV).  This suspension applies if your blood alcohol content or BAC was over .08 (.08 grams of alcohol per 100 grams of your blood). If you failed to submit to a chemical test at the time of your arrest for the law enforcement officers to determine your blood alcohol concentration, you may face longer license suspension periods.

At the time of your DUI arrest and after you are booked, your current license will be confiscated and you will be given a pink sheet entitled Notice of Suspension which acts as a temporary driver’s license for 30 days. (Obviously, this is only true if you had a valid license to begin with).  It is important that you read this form thoroughly. This form advises you to contact the DMV and request an administrative per se hearing within 10 days of your arrest or your license could be suspended for 180 days or longer periods. For more information on DL suspension periods, visit our DUI page.

Here are the points your DUI lawyer in Los Angeles will analyze related to a DUI arrest when defending your case.

  1. Age 21 and older officer’s sworn statement or DS367 or DS 367M 2
  2. Driver’s license suspension or revocation for multiple drunk driving offenses
  3. California Driver’s license suspension for commercial drivers holding a class A or class B license and driving a commercial vehicle or their own private vehicle
  4. PAS or preliminary alcohol screening test
  5. Chemical Test Refusal and its consequences on driver’s license suspension
  6. No driving defense to DUI charges and license suspension
  7.  Illegal stop or arrest for DUI and prolonged detentions without probable cause and effect in challenging driver’s license suspension
  8. Field sobriety tests or FST’s and determination of objective symptoms of intoxication
  9. Chemical testing including breath tests for DUI under California Code of Regulations, Title 17
  10. Breath test machine operator’s certification and operator qualifications
  11. California Department of Motor Vehicle’s notice of stay on the suspension of driver’s license
  12. Traffic accident report and SR-1 and how they are used in DMV hearings
  13. LAPD or CHP determination of probable cause for DUI arrest
  14. Challenging blood test or breath test results at a DMV hearing.

DUI Defense Lawyer

For more information regarding DL suspension penalties and conseqences in California, please visit the License Suspension page on our site.

Want to know about defending a DUI case?

For a free consultation, CALL NOW 213-252-1000

Skip to content