Failure to Register

Practice Areas

Sex Offender Criminal Defense Los Angeles

California Penal Code Section 290, known as the Sex Offender Registration Act, requires sex offenders to register as a sex offender with the chief of police of the city, or the sheriff of the county where they reside, work or attend school within 5 days of their birthday every year.

Common crimes that require sex registration include violation of California Penal Codes 286, 287, 288, 289, 261, 288.5, 288.7, 289, 311.1.

Pursuant to California Senate Bill 384 passed on October 6, 2017, sex registration is divided into 3 tiers. The lowest tier is tier 1 which requires a 10-year sex offender registration. Those convicted of misdemeanor sex crimes such as indecent exposure and sexual battery fall into this category.

Tier 2 applies to those convicted of more serious sex crimes, such as lewd act upon a child. These individuals must register as a sex offender for 20 years.

The most serious sex offenders will be in tier 3 and must register for life while residing, working, or attending school in California. Rape and sex trafficking or repeat sex offenders are examples.

If one is required to register and fails to do so, he may be sent to prison for up to 3 years if the underlying crime was a felony. For misdemeanor convictions, failure to register may result in a maximum of 1 year in county jail.

Criminal prosecution can affect your health, freedom, employment, and social life. You need help and you need the best criminal defense you can get. At the Law Offices of Tony M. Seyfi, with the state of the art computerized legal research tools and forensic techniques, we will focus on identifying the defenses you may have and will develop numerous challenges to any crime possible.

Our goal is victory for our clients and to keep them from going to jail, and we are confident of our defense strategies. If you would like to discuss your case, call us today for a FREE CONSULTATION and case analysis.

Skip to content